Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Awards - 2010
Share |

Oregon Association of Nurseries members honor the industry's best

The Oregon Association of Nurseries honored the best individuals, companies and groups the nursery industry has to offer during the annual President's Awards Banquet on Saturday, Sept. 25, 2010. The banquet was held as a part of the annual OAN Convention in Bend, Ore.

Most award winners, except those noted, were selected by the OAN Awards Committee, which consisted of several member representatives and was chaired by Joe Kupillas of Allied Solutions by Kupillas. The committee reviewed award nominations that were submitted by OAN members.

The award winners were as follows:

The Committee or Chapter of the Year Award given to a committee that is particularly successful in its service to the OAN membership. The winning committee should be one that cultivated exceptional energy and new ideas, and galvanized robust member participation. This year's winner was the Yard, Garden & Patio Show Committee, which was chaired by Brian Bauman of Bauman Farms in Gervais, Ore. The committee was credited with breathing new life into the show and increasing member involvement.

The Distinguished Member of the Horticultural Allied Trades Award is given to an allied trade individual who has shown exemplary support for the OAN, the industry, and OAN members. The award was presented to George Bear of Apex Fertilizers/Simplot Professional Products.

The Distinguished Education Award honors an individual or group that has rendered exceptional service to the industry through education, extension work, or government activity. The winner this year was the Oregon State University North Willamette Research and Extension Center, based in Aurora, Ore. The award was given in recognition of the outstanding education and support programs the center has developed. NWREC director Clark Seavert accepted the award on behalf of entire NWREC staff.

The Retailer of the Year Award is given to an individual or business that has demonstrated exceptional merit in promoting the retail nursery industry, and who consistently promotes the OAN to the public. The award this year went to Crystal Cady, manager of the annual and perennial department at Garland Nursery in Corvallis, Ore. Cady has had extensive involvement in the Retail Chapter of OAN as well as several committees.

The Outstanding Stewardship Award is a new award and was bestowed for the very first time at the 2010 OAN Convention. The award was created to recognize an OAN member that demonstrates excellence in practicing and promoting a long-term commitment to the stewardship of water, land and other natural resources. The first-ever winner of the award was Carlton Plants of Dayton, Ore., which has adopted and promoted several environmentally sound practices. Among them, the nursery adopted integrated pest management (i.e., without pesticides) more than two decades ago, composts its waste, has water and energy conservation programs in place, and heats its buildings using waste oil that otherwise would be discarded.

The New Nursery Professional of the Year Award was created to recognize a person relatively new to the nursery trade who demonstrates outstanding service to the OAN and the industry. The winner was Josh Zielinski of Alpha Nursery in Salem, Ore., who joined the staff of the nursery in 2006 and is active in the association. Zielinski co-chairs the OAN Sustainability Project, is the new president of the OAN Willamette Chapter, and serves on the OAN Government Affairs Committee.

The OAN Honorary Life Membership is given on an intermittent basis, in recognition of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the nursery industry in Oregon. This year, former OAN executive director John Aguirre was given this honor. Aguirre served as executive director from 1999–June of 2010, when he resigned to accept a job in California. He was credited with advancing the industry, building new coalitions with other groups with common interests, and successfully leading the management of pest and disease issues.

The Clayton W. Hannon Distinguished Service Award is named for the former OAN executive director who retired in 1999, and is given to a member who has demonstrated distinguished service to the association. The winner this year was Kristin VanHoose, co-owner of Amethyst Hill Nursery/Hydrangeas Plus in Aurora, Ore. VanHoose is the incoming OAN president and has provided key leadership to the OAN Retail Chapter. She also has served multiple terms as the OAN treasurer.

The Pacific Coast Nurseryman Outstanding Service Award is sponsored by Pacific Coast Nurseryman magazine and given in recognition of outstanding service to the nursery industry. The winner this year was Dick Joyce of Joyce Farms in Sherwood, Ore. Joyce was selected in recognition of his many long-term industry contributions over four decades of service. He currently chairs the Oregon Nurseries' Political Action Committee, and the OAN Insurance Committee, and serves on the Agri-Business Council of Oregon. He serves or has served on the OAN Safety Committee, the OAN Government Relations Committee, the OAN Yard, Garden & Patio Show Committee, and the United Oregon Horticultural Board (in the 1980s). He served as OAN President in 1983 and was inducted into the Oregon Nurseries Hall of Fame in 1996. He also received the PCN Outstanding Service Award in 1981.

In accordance with tradition, outgoing President Kevin Klupenger of K-Tek Agro selected the winners of the President's Five Star Awards, given to those who have lent key support during his year as president. The winners were Dick Joyce, Kristin VanHoose, the Yard Garden & Patio Show Committee, Kim Klupenger, and the staff of the Oregon Association of Nurseries.

This year's convention was themed "Back in the Black," to recognize that industry members are defying the dour economy and returning to financial strength and profitability.

The Oregon Association of Nurseries, based in Wilsonville, represents more than 1,200 wholesale growers, retailers, landscapers and suppliers. Oregon's ornamental horticulture industry is among the state's largest agricultural commodities, with annual sales of $820 million. More than 75 percent of the nursery plants grown in Oregon are shipped out of state. For information, visit or call 503-682-5089.

Sign In/Renew Membership


Worker Protection Standard training

Worker Protection Standard training

Worker Protection Standard training

OAN Membership Day

Worker Protection Standard training

Follow us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter Email Us

Copyright © 2018 Oregon Association of Nurseries All Rights Reserved.
29751 SW Town Center Loop W. Wilsonville, OR 97070 • Get Directions
Phone: 888-283-7219 • 503-682-5089 • Fax: 503-682-5099 • E-mail us