Nursery News: News

Jim Simnitt takes the presidential reins at OAN Convention

Wednesday, November 6, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Beth Farmer
Share |

The Oregon Association of Nurseries has a new president, with Jim Simnitt of Simnitt Nursery taking over from outgoing president Mike Hiller at this past weekend's OAN Convention in Hood River.

"I look forward to the successes and challenges that will come this year," Simnitt told members in his first presidential remarks at Convention. "Thank you for allowing me to be your president, and I look forward to working with all of you." His complete thoughts on becoming president also appeared in Digger and can be read here.

Serving along with Simnitt and past president Hiller on the OAN Executive Committee will be president-elect Kyle Fessler of Woodburn Nursery & Azaleas Inc., vice president Josh Robinson of Robinson Nursery Inc., treasurer Todd Nelson of Bountiful Farms Nursery Inc., secretary Denece Messenger of Decorative Bark Products, and member at large Wes Bailey of Smith Gardens Inc.

Simnitt has served on OAN Board of Directors since 2009, when he began several years of service as a representative for the Willamette Chapter. He served on the Executive Committee as secretary in 2015–16, vice president in 2016–17 and 2017–18, and president-elect in 2018–19. His brother Jerry Simnitt served as president in 2011–12.

Members of the OAN Board of Directors were also sworn in at Convention. They include associate member Tom Brewer (The HC Companies Inc.); container growers Adam Farley (Countryside Nursery), Ron Kinney (Monrovia) and Amanda Staehely (Columbia Nursery); field/bare root growers Jesse Nelson (Hans Nelson & Sons Nursery Inc.) and Chris Robinson (Robinson Nursery Inc.); field/B&B grower Jay Sanders (KG Farms Inc.); greenhouse growers Lorne Blackman (Walla Walla Nursery Co. Inc.) and Ben Verhoeven (Peoria Gardens Inc.); and retailer Gary English (Landsystems Nursery).

Blackman and Bailey are new to the board. Departing the board are Mark Leichty of Little Prince of Oregon Nursery, who completed his term as greenhouse representative, and Josh Zielinski of Alpha Nursery, who completed his term as immediate past president.