Nursery News: News

Friends of Nurseries awards

Thursday, November 7, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Beth Farmer
Share |

The Oregon Association of Nurseries cultivates positive relationships with elected officials on both sides of the political aisle. Nurseries and greenhouses are Oregon's number one agricultural sector, with nearly $1 billion in sales annually, and the OAN is here to make sure they get the representation they deserve at the state and federal levels.

As part of this mission, the OAN recognizes elected officials from both parties for listening to concerns and helping to protect the interests of the nursery and greenhouse industry.

Annually, the OAN gives out Friend of Nurseries awards to recognize such officials. The association announced this weekend that it has selected nine officials for this honor.

Friends of Nurseries awards presented to elected officials

U.S. Sen. Jeff Merkley (D-Oregon)
was chosen for his efforts to secure federal funding for the money-saving Smart Sprayer and has been a staunch ally on resolving the labor crisis through immigration reform. It is his second time winning a Friend of Nurseries Award.

U.S. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-Oregon-1st district)
has been a consistent voice in support of industry priorities. She has toured numerous nursery operations to learn more about the industry. The congresswoman, who served in the Oregon Legislature before her election to federal office, has demonstrated a willingness to cross party lines to support nursery priorities.

U.S. Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Oregon-5th district)
has been a stalwart partner on numerous issues. Balanced and solution oriented, the congressman exemplifies OAN's ideals of working across party lines to solve the state's most vexing problems. It is the third time he has won a Friend of Nurseries Award.

State Sen. Betsy Johnson (D-Scappoose)
was tabbed for her strong advocacy for industry concerns and objections regarding the business activity tax that harms agricultural operations. She also was an advocate for reasonable solutions to the debate on climate/carbon legislation.

State Rep. Daniel Bonham (R-The Dalles)
was appointed to serve in the legislature and right away dove into complex issues facing agriculture. Rep Bonham was an influential figure in the climate debate and was active on many of the OAN's priorities. Balanced and fair, the representative deserves recognition.

State Rep. Chrstine Drazan (R-Canby)
) was selected for her consistent outreach to the nursery industry during her first term in office. Her quick mind and forceful presence was very helpful in achieving the successes OAN accomplished this past year. Rep. Drazan listened very carefully to the nursery and greenhouse industry concerns and worked hard to help.

State Rep. Rick Lewis (R-Silverton)
was chosen for his consistent advocacy, understanding and support for the nursery industry, which has a large presence in his district that includes not just nursery growers, but also an abundance of Christmas tree growers.

State. Rep. Caddy McKeown (D-Coos Bay)
is a trusted ally to the nursery and greenhouse industry for consistent advocacy for reasoned policy. A central figure in an effort to pass the driver's license bill, Rep. McKeown has led on critical issues facing the state. Rep. McKeown has won this award twice for her bipartisan and "solutions first" approach.

State Rep. Shelly Boshart Davis (R-Tangent)
was chosen as New Legislator of the Year for her strong efforts to listen to and represent nursery industry concerns. The representative was a critical player in the debate on carbon and was an effective voice for agriculture. She demonstrated tenacity of commitment to agriculture and her strong support and understanding of the nursery and greenhouse industry