Nursery News: News

OAN Board schedules board election and virtual convention

Wednesday, September 16, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Beth Farmer
Share |
The OAN Board of Directors has approved a slate of candidates for six open positions on the 2021 board. Ballots will be mailed to members next week and must be returned by mail or fax by October 15 to be valid.

The OAN board includes 10 directors who represent industry segments as determined proportionally by USDA statistics. These are voted on by the members, and they serve two-year terms. Terms are staggered, with half up for election each year.

Members may vote for the candidates listed on the ballot, or write in a candidate of their choice. The new directors will be sworn at this year’s OAN Convention. The originally planned convention, set for Hawaii, was postponed to 2021 due to COVID-19.
The 2020 convention will now be a virtual convention, and will be held Friday–Saturday, December 4-5, 2020. Please save the date and watch for details.

This year’s slate of candidates was vetted by a Nominating Committee led by past president Mike Hiller and including board and chapter representatives. It includes Adam Farley, Countryside Nursery, representing container growers; Jesse Nelson, Hans Nelson & Sons Co., representing field and bare root growers; Jay Sanders, KG Farms, representing field and B&B growers; Ben Verhoeven, Peoria Gardens, representing greenhouse growers; and Gary English, Landsystems Nursery, representing retailers.
Additionally, Joe Dula of Moana Nursery was nominated to serve the remaining year of Amanda Staehely’s two-year term representing container growers. Staehely vacated that position because she was appointed to serve as member-at-large on the Executive Committee for 2021.

Four other directors will continue into their second year of service. They include Roy Kinney of Monrovia, representing container growers; Lorne Blackman of Walla Walla Nursery Co., representing greenhouse growers; Chris Robinson of Robinson Nursery, representing field and bare root growers; and Tom Brewer of The HC Companies, representing associate members.

Rounding out the board are the six members of the Executive Committee. For 2021, they will be president Kyle Fessler of Woodburn Nursery and Azaleas, president-elect Josh Robinson of Robinson Nursery, vice president Denece Messenger of Decorative Bark Products, treasurer Todd Nelson of Bountiful Farms, secretary Wes Bailey of Smith Gardens, past president Jim Simnitt of Simnitt Nursery and member at large Amanda Staehely of Columbia Nursery.