ONPAC Announces 2018 Endorsements
Share |


2018 State Legislative endorsements

The Oregon Nurseries' Political Action Committee (ONPAC) has issued its endorsements for the 2018 general election. The committee made recommendations based on voting record and support for the nursery industry.

Endorsements include 28 Democratic candidates for the Oregon Legislature and 27 Republican candidates. ONPAC also endorsed OAN past president Bob Terry for chair of the Washington County Board of Commissioners.

"It's as much about the relationships as it is about the support," ONPAC chair Kathy LeCompte said. "We don't look at partisan labels when we consider whether to support them."

LeCompte noted that the Oregon Legislature will be considering several important issues during the 2019 session, including tax reform, employer mandates, water supply issues, land use policy, county ag assessments, and the overall state budget including the Public Employee Retirement System (PERS). The committee also made recommendations on two ballot measures. ONPAC endorsed a no vote on Measure 105, which would repeal Oregon's sanctuary law. The law as it stands today does nothing to prevent the deportation of criminals.

"Measure 105 perpetuates confusion and fear for Oregon's nursery industry and the workers we rely on," OAN Executive Director Jeff Stone said. "It's a distraction from a much-needed federal immigration reform effort and it sends the wrong message about Oregon."

ONPAC endorsed a yes vote on Measure 104, which would implement a three-fifths supermajority requirement for revenue raising measures not already covered by state law, such as proposals to reduce tax credits or raise fees.

"Well constructed, well-thought-out tax measures will have adequate support," Stone said. "We need this measure to prevent procedural games that are only designed to ram something through."

Ballots will be mailed starting on October 17 and will be due in election officials' hands by Tuesday, November 6 — postmarks do not count. The deadline to register is Tuesday, October 16.

"The most important thing is that you vote, whatever your views and whether or not you agree with the ONPAC endorsements," LeCompte said. "Your vote is your voice. It's your opportunity to influence the priorities and future direction of the state."

OAN members are invited to participate in ONPAC and also to donate to the campaign fund to help elect nursery friendly candidates. For more information, contact Jeff Stone at jstone@oan.org.

The full list of endorsements is as follows:



Oregon Senate

SD 15 Alexander Flores (R-Hillsboro)
SD-17 Elizabeth Steiner Hayward (D-Beaverton)
SD 19 Rob Wagner (D-Tualatin)
SD-26 Chuck Thomsen (R-Hood River)

Oregon House

HD-24 Ron Noble (R-McMinnville)
HD-26 Rich Vial (R-Wilsonville)
HD-28 Jeff Barker (D-Aloha)
HD-30 Janeen Sollman (D-Hillsboro)
HD-34 Ken Helm (D-Portland)
HD-35 Margaret Doherty (D-Tigard)
HD 36 Jennifer Williamson (D-Portland)
HD-37 Julie Parrish (R-West Linn)
HD 38 Andrea Salinas (D-Lake Oswego)
HD-39 Christine Drazan (R-Oregon City)
HD 41 Karin Power (D-Milwaukie)
HD-44 Tina Kotek (D-Portland)
HD-45 Barbara Smith Warner (D-Portland)
HD-48 Jeff Reardon (D-Happy Valley)
HD-50 Carla Piluso (D-Gresham)
HD-51 Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-Clackamas)
HD-52 Jeff Helfrich (R-Hood River)


Oregon Senate

SD-16 Betsy Johnson (D-Scappoose)

Oregon House

HD-9 Caddy McKeown (D-Coos Bay)
HD 10 David Gomberg (D-Lincoln City)
HD-31 Brad Witt (D-Clatskanie)


Oregon Senate

SD-6 Lee Beyer (D-Springfield)
SD 7 James Manning (D-Eugene)
SD-10 Jackie Winters (R-Salem)
SD 11 Peter Courtney (D-Salem)

Oregon House

HD-7 Cedric Hayden (R-Roseburg)
HD 11 Marty Wilde (D-Eugene)
HD-12 John Lively (D-Springfield)
HD-13 Nancy Nathanson (D-Eugene)
HD 14 Julie Fahey (D-Eugene)
HD-15 Shelly Boshart Davis (R-Albany)
HD-17 Sherrie Sprenger (R-Scio)
HD-18 Rick Lewis (R-Silverton)
HD-19 Denyc Boles (R-Salem)
HD 20 Paul Evans (D-Monmouth)
HD-21 Brian Clem (D-Salem)
HD-22 Teresa Alonso Leon (D-Woodburn)


Oregon Senate

SD-1 Dallas Heard (R-Roseburg)
SD 3 Jessica Gomez (R-Ashland)
SD 30 Cliff Bentz (R-John Day)

Oregon House

HD 1 David Brock Smith (R-Gold Beach)
HD 2 Gary Leif (R-Myrtle Creek)
HD 3 Carl Wilson (R-Grants Pass)
HD 5 Pam Marsh (D-Ashland)
HD 6 Kim Wallen (R-Medford)
HD-54 Cheri Helt (R-Bend)
HD-55 Mike McLane (R-Powell Butte)
HD 56 Werner Reschke (R-Klamath Falls)
HD-57 Greg Smith (R-Heppner)
HD-59 Daniel Bonham (R-The Dalles)
HD-60 Lynn Findley (R-Ontario)


Washington County Commission Chair: Bob Terry


Measure 104 (3/5 revenue increase requirement for legislature) - YES
Measure 105 (repeal of sanctuary law) - NO